27 January 2020

Urgent: write to your Councillor on transport strategy

Joint Transport Local Plan 4 (JLTP 4)

 

Writing a letter to your Councillor 

The JTLP 4 sets out transport strategy until 2036. Further information about the JTLP 4 is available here. Consultation finished in March 2019 and Councils are now in the process of approving the final plan.  As you will see from the pro-forma letter below, there are key issues to be raised.

We provide below a pro-forma letter for you to adapt as you wish. It is important to personalise your letter. Councillors may take obvious ‘pro-forma letters’ less seriously.

You can explain why the issue is important to you by including a relevant local or personal experience. This will help make the issue real and tangible for your Councillor. You may wish to let them know that their stance on this issue affects the way you vote. You can also emphasise that others within your electorate care about this issue as well.

Who is your Councillor?

You can identify your ward Councillors and their email addresses here.

 

Who are the members of the Executive Committee?

You may also wish to send your letter to members of the Executive Committee who take a decision on this issue on 5th February.

 

Cllr Don Davies                 donald.davies@n-somerset.gov.uk

Cllr Mike Bell                     mike.bell@n-somerset.gov.uk

Cllr Ash Cartman              ashley.cartman@n-somerset.gov.uk

Cllr James Tonkin             james.tonkin@n-somerset.gov.uk

Cllr Bridget Petty              bridget.petty@n-somerset.gov.uk

Cllr Mark Canniford         mark.canniford@n-somerset.gov.uk

Cllr Caritas Charles           caritas.charles@n-somerset.gov.uk

Cllr Catherine Gibbons    catherine.gibbons@n-somerset.gov.uk

The pro-forma letter

Dear Councillor, 

I am a resident in [Ward name] and I write to you concerning the Joint Local Transport Plan 4 (JLTP 4). 

The North Somerset Council Executive Committee meets on 5 February and the full Council on 18 February. The officers have recommended the approval of the JLTP 4. 

I have many concerns about JLTP4 which I believe that you should take into consideration before you vote. 

  1. It is difficult to see how JLTP4 remains valid when the Joint Spatial Plan has been withdrawn. The two are inextricably linked.
  2. Many new roads are included within the Plan, with some having immense environmental impacts. Yet these impacts have not been evaluated within the consultations.  A full environmental impact review is needed. 
  3. The JLTP 4 also includes assumptions about future growth of road traffic to Bristol Airport beyond the current planning application of growth to 12 million passengers per annum.
  4. This plan was started a few years ago before the growing awareness of the Climate Emergency, thus its growth assumptions and solutions will be flawed.

Given that the Joint Local Transport Plan process is not subject to public examination, I think that it is both prudent and essential the JTLP 4 should be not be approved but withdrawn. Councillors in North Somerset would then be able to work on a long-term strategy which would take us to a Zero Carbon North Somerset.

Yours sincerely,

 

 

 

 

 

 

 






Regional News